Nasirol Molk Mosque
Nasirol Molk Mosque is one of the oldest mosques of Shiraz. It is famous because of the colorful lights formed during the day and create a breathtaking effect of the interior.
Shiraz is one of the most beautiful cities in Iran, and many people travel there every year. One of the attractions of this city is Nasirol Molk Mosque -also called Pink Mosque-٫ where light and colors entwine and create a stunning atmosphere.
Nasirol Molk Mosque is located in Lotfali Khan Zand avenue. It was built during Ghajar Dynasty by the order of Mirza Hassan Ali (Nasirol Molk). The designer of this masterpiece٫ was Muhammad Hassan Memar and it took 12 years to build it.(1293 AH-1305 AH)
Its infrastructure is 2212 square meters and its area is 2980 square meters.
The mosque has a large courtyard located at the north side of the mosque. It also has two eastern and western Shabestans (parts of the mosque designed for sleeping or nocturnal prayers).
The western Shabestan٫ is the summer Shabestan and has a brick-made covering. The vault of this Shabestan is on stone columns with spiral patterns on them. There are 12 columns (12 Imams) and they are placed in two rows of six. It also has 7 entrances to the courtyard of the mosque٫ with 7 wooden doors containing colorful glass.
The decoration of this Shabestan was inspired by Vakil Mosque and Moshir Mosque.
The vault and the walls of this Shabestan are decorated with beautiful tiles. The ceiling is decorated with flowered and Islamic patterns and also with some verses of Quran written in great calligraphy. Its floor is made of turquoise tiles. The stone of its altar is made of marble and it is lower than the floor of the Shabestan.
The eastern Shabestan٫ which is the winter Shabestan٫ also has a tiled ceiling and has 7 columns without any patterns in the middle. The ceiling is decorated with tiles.
There is a porch with a width of 6 meters in front of the Shabestan.
There is a door in this Shabestan٫ that opens to a water well. This hall is known as the cow well. There is also a pond in this place.
Both Shabestans has now become the Museum of Endowments. In the north hall٫ there is a petroglyph on which the following poem is written:
غرض نقشی است کز ما باز ماند / که هستی را نمی بینیم بقایی
مگر صاحبدلی روزی برحمت / کند در حق استادان دعایی